James Beard Foundation Announces Leadership Awards

The James Beard Foundation is in its second (2012) year of honoring leaders who are “visionaries creating a more healthful, sustainable, and safe food world.” This year's five recipients include Wendell Berry, author; Dr. Jason Clay, senior vice president of Market Transformation for the World Wildlife Fund; Dr. Kathleen Merrigan, Deputy Secretary of Agriculture; Tensie Whelan, President of the Rainforest Alliance and Co-Chair of the Sustainable Food Lab Advisory Board; and Malik Yakini, HUFED grantee and Executive Director of the Detroit Black Community Food Security Network.